My Awesome Summer Internship(s)

This is my desk at the DCNR office. I get my own cubical and TWO monitors this year!

What an unbelievealble couple of amazing opportunities I have this summer! First of all, I have an internship at DCNR (Department of Conservation of Natural Resources) working for the landscape architects in the Bureau of Facility Design and Construction. If you recall, I worked for DCNR last summer, but interned with Agroforesty. It has been super enjoyable so far! I’ve gotten to work on construction documents, been to meetings, and done a rendering or two! I am also now on the 8th floor and have decided for some reason that I should take the stairs more often, but by the time I reach my floor, I am out of breath and trying not to breath loudly while logging on to my computer is surprisingly difficult.

The other thing I got to do is something so so amazing is work at the GOVERNOR’S RESIDENCE!!!! Like the GOVERNOR of PENNSYLVANIA! I’m so excited! I get to help design a rain garden, as well as helping with some various other projects on the mansion’s grounds. All of the staff are friendly and welcoming and I can’t believe I get to work with them! Also, they let me play the Steinway grand piano in the main hall! Very exciting times in the life of Zoe!

Here are some pictures of the Governor’s Residence:

The Rose Garden

 

And… BEES! They have a beekeeper on staff and built this display so kids that visit can learn about the importance of bees! They are also used to pollinate the roses and other flowers on the property!

And Here is where I’ll be designing the rain garden:

 

5 thoughts on “My Awesome Summer Internship(s)

  1. I think a stylized Nittany Lion with a mane of streams of water would look good there!!
    And did you know that in the “Agnes” flood of 1972 the Susquehanna River rose to the 2nd floor of the Mansion? It was a fairly new building then, too.
    Enjoy your summer. Looks like so much fun!
    Love, Grammy

  2. Wow, Zoe! So happy for you! What a wonderful opportunity to network with others in your area of interest. Sounds like the governors residence is very cool! Thanks for sharing!
    Mari

  3. I’m happy to see your hard work and dedication paying off, Zoe! You’re going to have a much stronger resume than I did coming out of school!

Leave a Reply

