3rd Year, Oh Dear

So we are about one day from my return to school. Today being the last full day at home :(. But here’s to the start of junior year! Woo. But, plot twist, I am not living in the dorms this year since, partly due to my actions (or lack there of) I did not actually request an on campus housing contract…haha oops. Consequently, I had to look for an apartment off campus. And after an emotionally exhausting winter of searching, I found a wonderful little place down town. Sadly, it is incredibly far away from the Stuckeman building where most of my days are spent (as you may recall from my previous posts). But at least I’ll get more steps in

2016-05-22 20.41.52

Vincent, on the left, with all his body parts still intact. Parsley is behind him on the right.

Another new and exciting thing this year, I have birds!!! Two cute budgies named parsley (the green one) and uh… well I haven’t actually named the other one. I just call it Little Blue Bird. They both hate me at the moment but hopefully one day they will not hate me! That’s the goal anyway. Little Blue Bird is not the original (or OG as the young folks are saying) inhabitant, however. I had originally bought a different bird (named Vincent), to accompany Parsley but in a sad turn of events, Vincent escaped from the cage. His freedom was not long lived as the ferocious cat decided he looked delicious, so she ate him. It was SO sad.

2016-08-18 16.28.53

Little Blue Bird now on the left. So cute! And still living!

 

A frightening and also exciting thing that happened over the summer: I got accepted into Schreyer Honors College! I mostly did it because I want to wear the gold medal at graduation. Not sure if all the extra work and that whole “honors thesis” thing will be worth it but it’s too late now!!! Additionally, I’m banking on getting a free t-shirt at Schreyer orientation. Luckily, there is a separate orientation for gateway students and incoming freshmen because I’d rather not have to feel like a dumb lump next to all these newbie geniuses. Personal feelings. Don’t get me wrong, I am very excited to be in Schreyer! (Even though I have continual issues with correctly spelling “Schreyer”. That “e” before the “y” really gets me. Anyway, I actually think it will be a beneficial experience and what not. AND priority scheduling! No complaints about that!

So anyway, it’s definitely going to be an interesting year!

3 thoughts on “3rd Year, Oh Dear

  1. New adventures ahead, Zoe! I know you will do well! Determination can get you a long way in this world! Love the birds, very cute and colorful. I look forward to all your posts this school year. Once again, thanks for sharing!
    Mari

  2. And, you are the 3rd generation of the Hopkins family to be in the Honors Program at PSU!! I’m VERY pleased that you are now in Schreyers!!! I think we are the first family to achieve that.

Leave a Reply

