The Benefits of Public Transportation

It is halfway through the first semester. Homework is piling up at an alarming speed. There are essays to write, tests to take, and deadlines to meet. Any moment spent not doing homework is spent avoiding it.The air is cold and smells like fall. Trees are painted red, orange, and yellow. Leaves tumble off the branches, drifting to the ground. (This leaf detachment happens through the process of abscission). It’s getting dark earlier and no conversation is complete without someone saying they are tired.

And here is what I’ve been up to:

First off, here is my last studio project for digital sequence. Tomorrow, my section will be doing “analog drawing” which is the non-computer part of studio, and I have little to no idea what that entails. Anyway, for our project, we had to color in a black and white site plan. I DID NOT DRAW THIS. I just colored it in. (I did not draw this).

Sketches

The other day, I was doing laundry. I put my clothes in the dryer. When they were done, I opened up the door to find this:

IMG_5236

 

It made me very happy. I think it’s fascinating that the money didn’t get mixed in with the rest of the clothes. It was just lucky someone didn’t get impatient and take my clothes out of the dryer to put in their own, because I would’ve lost a small fortune.

IMG_5249

All the groceries I could fit in my backpack.

I’m not sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I have a fear of public transportation. I’m always worried that I’ll get off at the wrong place or take the wrong bus or something. I just don’t trust my directional judgement (which I can admit I do not have much of). But, last night, I did the unthinkable: I TOOK THE BUS! I figured that as an actual adult-like person, I will need to figure out public transportation so I can go places on a very limited budget. I had also gone to McLanahan’s and bought a large amount of groceries, including a 5 pound bag of flour and a dozen eggs which I really didn’t want to lug up hill. (Side note: I was also considering buying a bag of those tiny clementines but decided against it which was probably good judgement). I had put all the groceries in my backpack which made it bulge out really far, and probably looked really suspicious. I also felt like I was going to fall over backwards.

After I went to the store, I decided to get some dinner. For obvious reasons, I didn’t want to walk very far so I went to Panera. Do you see the IMG_5243picture of my food there? That is a Panera dinner without a baguette! when did the start giving customers soft dinner rolls like it’s some kind of upgrade!? Soft dinner roles are available in every diner in America. If you’re going to Panera, you’re there for the bread.

Outside, it was cold, wet, and windy. In conditions like this, any person with a substantial amount of weight on their shoulders would have no desire to trek all the way back to North Halls. So I waited for the bus, and I got on the right bus, and I got off at the right stop. I was very proud of my accomplishment, and happy that I had less far to walk.

Here is proof that I took the bus:

IMG_5247

I did not want people to question my intentions in taking a picture of the bus with people in it, so I took it of the doors. Anyhow, I now realize the benefits of public transportation.

I guess I should explain the flour and eggs. Well, I decided to make a cookie in a mug. I looked up a recipe online, but I must have done something wrong because it did not turn out like the picture. (I realize here that I should’ve taken a picture of it as that last sentence made a perfect lead-in for a picture. However, I was so disappointed in the outcome that I did not take one).

This morning, I made myself breakfast:

IMG_5256 (In the microwave, I might add) My dorm room now smells like bacon.

4 thoughts on “The Benefits of Public Transportation

  1. Zozie, loved your blog post today. Can’t imagine making a cookie in a cup in a microwave! Sorry it didn’t come out. I agree that the Panera bread switch is a dirty trick!

  2. Zoe, I haven’t tried a cookie but I have tried this and it’s pretty good… considering.
    1 pkg. Angel Food Cake Mix
    1 Pkg. Any flavor Cake mix
    Put both dry cake mixes in a plastic bag and mix together well.
    Put 1/3 cup mix in a cup and add 3 tablespoons cold water. Stir well. Microwave 1 minute.

Leave a Reply

