What I Learn In Plant Biology: I Have Been Lied to My Whole Life

ATTENTION! I am taking a break in your irregularly scheduled programming to bring you this urgent news:

So we’re finishing up our unit on plant structures and their functions (like leaves, roots, that sort of thing)

Here is what I have learned:

First of all, who ever told you that ginger is a root, is tragically misinformed. In fact, ginger is a stem. I’m not even kidding. Ginger is a “modified stem” called a rhizome that grows horizontally in the ground. I just blew your mind!

But wait! There’s more!

That whole debate over whether a tomato is a fruit or a vegetable? Well, according to my textbook (and my professor and probably the internet), a tomato is not only-botanically speaking-a fruit, it is a berry. What? Yes! It is true! A berry has a thin skin and usually contains many seeds and has a soft inside at maturity. And do you know what else is considered a berry? GRAPES! Boom.

And one last thing. While acorns are nuts, walnuts and pecans are not! I’m actually no sure why that is. Also peanuts are actually legumes, not nuts.

So anyway, enjoy the rest of your day, with this new information about food that will probably change your life forever.

If you are having a rough time digesting this information, you can fin the authors of this book and have a chat with them.

IMG_5233

 

3 thoughts on “What I Learn In Plant Biology: I Have Been Lied to My Whole Life

Leave a Reply

